NaPoWriMo Poetry Prompt #29: Day 29

Same list as yesterday

A Tiger Named Pain

This is the final word list for NaPoWriMo of 2014. And no, I do not expect you to use all of these words. Use as many as you find that you need. This list is different in several ways and for several reasons. I have enjoyed this past month of words and the poems they have inspired, yours as well as my own. But, the past three days were a wonderful high for me as I wrote about the dragons that inhabit my imagination. It was a great experience to find so much inspiration in my own writing. So, I decided to do something different for this final stretch of April. All the other words were taken from poems I had written and posted on Soul’s Music. These words were not taken from a poem, but from an essay I wrote, here on 1sojournal about five years ago. Some of you may have already read it. The essay tells the story of how I came to spontaneously create a Personal Mythology without the faintest idea that was what I was doing. Didn’t know that until a few years later while taking courses at the local University as an undergraduate student. After graduation, I became the General Manager of a new/used bookstore. As such, I ordered all of the new books that were carried in the store and you best believe those shelves were full of books pertaining to all of my varied interests. Before I became a free-lance writing instructor, I began to find a few titles that pertained to the subject of Personal Mythology. I ordered and read the few I could find, but none of them actually seemed to pertain to my own experience. Most of them were written by psychologists who seemed to need a clear structure and a set of rules for doing this thing I had done alone in my bedroom with not a great deal of thought, let alone understanding. So, I began to create a means for telling others how to do what I was doing. And that became some of what I taught later on. In the past few days, I’ve received requests to hear more about that experience, which led me to create the current and final word list. You may find the essay here:

https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/2008/12/13/a-tiger-named-pain/

One day left after this one!

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo Poetry Prompt #29: Day 29 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaPoWriMo Poetry Prompt #29: Day 29

  1. Pingback: Day 29: The Crossing | The Chalk Hills Journal

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks Misky, mine is here:

    At Mid Point

    Elizabeth

    Like

Comments are closed.