NaPoWriMo Day 1

For Day !: April 1, 2016

DSCN4551a

I thought it would be appropriate to begin with poems about breaking silence.

The words are:

sound, silence, break, proclaim, admit, begin

(yes, I know I said three, but I want to give you as many avenues as possible)

The musical inspiration may be found here:

Wishing you the best. Leave your blog addie in the comment section below.

Elizabeth

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo Day 1 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to NaPoWriMo Day 1

  1. pmwanken says:

    Did i miss something? Are you posting prompts for April?

    Yes, I am. They will appear here after 7pm for the next day. Hope to see you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

    • pmwanken says:

      Was there an “intro” or something I should read to know the pattern/direction/plan for your month of prompts? I note that you said, “I know I said three…” — so I’m wondering what I might have missed that I would need to know. As in…are these wordless — I should use your words? Or is it a theme — and you’ve given examples/synonyms/starting points?? Just want to be sure I’m participating appropriately if I do end up getting my poetic juices flowing enough to do a PAD. 🙂

      Like

      • 1sojournal says:

        Paula, I’ll be doing brief wordles (3-6 words), but also making suggestions as well as using visual prompts. You can use any, all, or go off on your own tangent. I’m not a rule sticker and some days, we all have to do our own thing. Would just be happy to see you join us.

        Elizabeth

        Like

      • pmwanken says:

        OK — great. Thanks for explaining the “framework” for me. I do hope to participate. I just haven’t been writing as much lately and all of a sudden, after 5 years of Aprils doing so, the PAD seems a bit overwhelming. 🙂 Thanks for providing an option!! ❤

        Clapping loudly. And yes, it is a bit overwhelming, but we will do it one day, one poem at a time. Good Lord, I sound so sure and clear, lol. Am anything but. Doing it with angst and eagerness, and a whole shitload of “What the hell do you think you are?”

        Elizabeth

        Like

  2. Pingback: Breaking Silence | Vivinfrance's Blog

  3. Not a great start, but I broke the silence! https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/breaking-silence/

    Okay, I just told Paula I’m not a rule sticker. But, here’s the first rule, lol. No qualifying, no self-denigration. We are all all in the same boat, doing what we can. Your words today put a grin on my face and a warmth inside, both desperately needed. I had considered doing this last week, but decided I didn’t have the energy, chutzpah, whatever was necessary. Then spoke with a friend yesterday and she reminded me of something I taught her years ago. And I realized that the only way out of whatever pit I was in, was to be the best me I can be in any given moment. I’m just so glad you are here.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Pingback: Relief | undercaws

  5. Thank you for being here, Elizabeth. I’m looking forward to a month of poem inch with you. On the road to DC today, I wrote and posted my piece in the car. Ha! I love my smartphone. Be seeing you all soon. Here’s a link to my piece:
    http://undercaws.com/2016/04/01/relief/

    And again, I can only thank you for showing up. I have no clue where this will go, but am willing to attempt it, especially with a few good friends. Warm hearts are always welcome, especially one that is willing to write and post a poem in the car, lol. That’s real dedication,

    Elizabeth

    Like

    • Haha! I’m going to try your prompts and the NaPo prompts. I’ll try to combine when I can. I’m looking forward to deepening connections with you ladies. ❤

      Like

      • In my initial comment, I think poem inch was supposed to be poeming. That’s what commenting in a car can do. lol We are safely in our hotel in DC. We’re getting ready to go check out some cherry blossoms. It’s such a beautiful world.

        Like

  6. Pamela says:

    Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for this. I will be back with something later.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Sound I Proclaim | echoes from the silence

  8. pmwanken says:

    OK…after a year-long slump of writing about 5 poems a month, I’m stepping out with a poem for DAY ONE of NaPoWriMo 2016…thanks for the words, Elizabeth.

    https://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/the-sound-i-proclaim/

    I’ll get back when I’m able, to read.

    Ah, we are in the same space. I’ve only done the weekly wordles for the past year. Now I’m too busy to even consider crossing my fingers. So, I’ll say a quick prayer for all of us.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Pamela says:

    Hi. I am here with the first of 30, I hope.

    Thanks,
    Pamela
    https://wordsandthoughtspjs.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/a-naked-rose-flows-in-the-sea-napo-1/

    So glad to see you here and being able to read your work. It’s only 30 days, right?(she’s laughing when she says that).

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Thank you, Elizabeth, for this offering! I’m looking forward to this month of writing. I may be rusty but I’m coming out swinging for 30 and more. Peace and blessings.

    Marsha
    https://marshanelson.wordpress.com/2016/04/02/breaking-silence/

    You and me both, lol. Really like your poem and glad you are writing again. We seem to have reversed roles a bit, but I’m hoping it will be fun for all. Thanks for taking my not so subtle hint…

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

