A Beginning

When you take care of something, it lives a long time.

Katagiri Roshi in the Introduction of Wild Mind: Living The Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg.

I stopped writing six months ago. It is far easier than one might think. Certainly far easier than I would have thought after years of laying down words as if my life depended on no other process.

It was my intention to stop for a while, take a break, do other things, but I have found that it is extremely difficult to come back and start over again. What I have discovered is that I really miss the writing. I do not miss all the other activities that have attached themselves to this making of words, especially here on my blogs. The need to respond, to play nice, to be actively here so much of the time.

As I typed in those last words, I realized that I can’t explain my presence here today. I still don’t look forward to those other activities, can’t promise that I will partake in them, yet here I am, doing this thing again.

Writing is a huge part of who and what I am. When I read the above quote, this morning, I knew I had to begin again: begin taking care of what is important and satisfying to my person, no matter how I might feel about all the rest of it. No promises, no guarantees. This is, after all, only a beginning. We shall see where it leads, if it leads anywhere.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Beginning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Beginning

  1. margo roby says:

    Hello — I have been mulling writing you in the last couple of days, to make sure you are there and then this, so I guess you are. Having gone through what you did, I know the ease of leaving and the tug of the return. I’m just so glad to see your blog title in my inbox. I’ll understand if you go AWOL again. I’m fighting my own AWOL-ness and have been for a few weeks. Happy Spring, Elizabeth.

    margo

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Welcome back, Elizabeth. You have been missed. Relationships formed in those early days of Poets United and some other weekly blog sites stay firm despite passing of time. (Or maybe it is just me for whom the old sticks firm.) I always enjoyed your poetry, will enjoy it again.

    Like

  3. YES! Welcome back, Elisabeth. We have missed you. Dont worry about all the Duties. Just write those words, as they come, and we will gratefully receive them. SO wonderful to have you back!!!!! Like Mary, for me, too, those old ties remain the strongest! I love the Roshi quote, love Natalie Goldberg too.

    Like

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    I’m so glad to see you back! I’ve missed you.

    Like

  5. S.L. Corsua says:

    Like you, I have just resumed posting and creative writing. I’ve gone on several blog sabbaticals since 2005 and I’ve always returned, though the last one-and-a-half-year one was the longest. I have close friends who stopped writing poems when law firm work became too much. I, for one, refuse to let it all go, not when it brings life and breath and all that jazz, as nothing else could (for me, that is). There is a time for everything; a reason, too. And to each his own. 🙂 May you find what you are looking for.

    I’m glad to have read you again, Elizabeth. I’ve been catching up on your poems in your other site as well. Cheers.

    Like

  6. Diddums says:

    I’m feeling something like this right now as well… and yet blogging (and talking to other bloggers) are important to me. I think that just makes it harder to come back and try again! Still, I’m here, and I’m still the same person, and I can bank on that at least. 😉 I realize this post of yours is an older one. I hope you are well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

