Wordplay #26 The Last One

 

Wordplay #26  Zaftig

zaf-tig> full-figured: with a full-figured body

What can she say, she’s a wordaholic.
Made her way, one day at a time,
from A to Z without a skip. Had
thought exercise was supposed
to slim, but finds her vocabulary
now has a far more zaftig definition.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/27/11

Notes: Thanks to all who stuck with me for the last few weeks. Hope someone else will take up the challenge and do twenty-six more. I’d really like to be on the reading end of this one. By the way, zaftig comes from Yiddish, via High German, meaning juicy.  Love it.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wordplay #26 - The Last One and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wordplay #26 The Last One

  1. Ha! This zaftig lady is off for the weekend – I enjoyed these explorations, Elizabeth. E you Monday when I’m back.

    Like

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    I’m adding it to my 101/1001 challenges because I’ve really enjoyed reading these.

    I may not use them in poems but slot them into my prose posts.

    Thanks for the fun!

    Like

  3. pamelasayers says:

    I have missed quite a few of these, Elizabeth. I love the poem. The word does have that Yiddish ring to it. I had many friends in New York, and their parents spoke the idioma. Fond memories for me.

    Pamela

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      I have never interacted with anyone who spoke yiddish, have only read it in the novels I read, but am somehow drawn to it, again and again. Thanks Pamela,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  4. Good job! I’m so pleased to know you!

    Like

  5. lucychili says:

    thanks for these they have been fascinating

    Like

  6. Laurie Kolp says:

    A wordaholic… I love it! Now I know what my problem is…

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Actually, I was seriously thinking about starting this piece with,

      “Hi, my name is Elizabeth and I’m a wordoholic.”

      Straight out of the AA Big Book. The only problem with that is that I truly believe I got my addiction as a gift from my Higher Power. I do however, say the serenity prayer on occasion, lol.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  7. Marinela says:

    A wordaholic… love this one 🙂

    Beautiful page and really great creative work 🙂

    Bullying Poems

    Like

  8. pmwanken says:

    Zaftig. There’s a new word to describe me!! 🙂

    {giggling}

    Loved the poem!! If only these exercises in writing would be slimming!! I guess I could always choose the “Arial Narrow” font! 😉

    ~Paula

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Paula, I was giggling when I wrote it for the exact same reason. I’m not sure the font change would help me at all. Thanks for visiting and glad you enjoyed it,

      Elizabeth

      Like

Leave a Reply

