Wordplay #4

 

Wordplay #4  Daedal

Dae-dal  > 1. intricate: complex  2. ingenious: skillful,
may imply cunning, or cleverness  3. decorated with
many things: especially natural wonders.

Sometimes feels like a dreidel, spinning
round and round. So skilled at using
convoluted verbiage, that on occasion,
even she must stop and try to figure out
what her daedal statements are really
all about.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/5/11

Note: Finding one new word a day and then using it in a sentence or brief verse. Everyone is welcome to play along in the comment section below, or on your own site.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wordplay #4 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wordplay #4

  1. What a delight! Well done! At first I thought it was words to a “hum.” I like your dae-dal indeed.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Annell, when I found the word for the day, I also could hear something humming in my head, some song from long ago, using a sound alike word. Finally figured it out. It was by Don McLean, and titled the Dreidel Song. Worked to hard for this one, so had to put it in. Under the circumstances, you are correct, it was a “hum’.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  2. brenda w says:

    I like yours a great deal. The dreidel connection is great. I can relate to the piece…not that my work is daedal. 🙂 But I do go back and read it sometimes and say, what was I thinking here?

    Here’s mine.
    daedal

    This is good practice Elizabeth. Thank you!

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thanks Brenda, it really makes you stretch a bit doesn’t it? And I often find myself trying to figure out what it is I am trying to say. Which means that some day, I will probably come back here and scratch my head, then just walk away confused. Lol.

      Thanks so much for joining in,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  3. Mary says:

    Interesting about the convoluted verbiage…sometimes I feel like we as poets often do that. LOL. Not intentially, of course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

