Word Play #1

 

Word Play #1  Abatis

Ab-a-tis
barricade: a rampart made of felled trees placed so that their bent or sharpened branches face out toward the enemy.

Did not notice how abatis,
constructed in childhood
to protect tender places,
created dangerous spaces
in yearning to belong.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/2/11

Notes: This is my new adventure: to look up a new word each day and then use it in a sentence, or verse. You are welcome to play along using the comment section below, to build or create your own sentence or short verse using the word I have chosen. If you do choose short verse, please limit it to ten lines or less. Thank you.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Word Play #1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Word Play #1

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    This fits this week’s We Write Poems prompt!

    I like your new adventure.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Seeing as how I created that prompt weeks ago, on a whim, that is some wonderful synchronicity. Glad you noticed and will try to use it for the prompt. Thanks Tilly Bud,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  2. Yes, I guess over time we have to realize it is our “club,” we issue the invitations. We see the world from our “center.”

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Annell, they say that is how a child sees, and that maturity is what widens that perspective. But, the child is forever within us. Thanks for playing along,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  3. brenda w says:

    Your brevity speaks volumes.
    ~Brenda

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Brenda, my brevity has more to do with my own uncertainty than with anything else. I get these ideas and then leap, only to pull back at some point and wonder if I actually know what it is I’m doing here,or understand what I’ve gotten myself into, lol. Thanks for playing along.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    My home is my rampart,
    defence against the world
    and its weather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

