Journey Stone #31

 


Journey Stone #31  The Other I Am

I believe in you my soul, the other I am must not abase itself to you,
And you must not be abased to the other.

___Walt Whitman  Song of Myself

Pieces of self unwittingly relegated
to shadow existence. Often unknown,
thus feared. Sometimes wild, like
a feral child, drawn toward light
seeking expression, wanting
only to be heard.

Elizabeth Crawford  3/3/11

Note: The first time I read the above quote by Walt Whitman, it resonated deeply throughout my being. I had spent several years creating my own Personal Mythology and understood exactly what Whitman was speaking into. We are often told that each of us has a shadow aspect to our personality. Something that exists within the subconscious mind, lurks there. We are usually afraid of what we don’t know, and actually are genuinely confused when we engage in behavior that we might find unacceptable, inappropriate, for purposes and reasons we do not clearly understand.

I have written about The Wild Child, The Wild Thing that exists within each of us. Some of that writing can be found here in the categories on this blog. I have found that some of those shadow aspects are actually our own creative voices, yearning to express themselves, seeking to be heard and to be healed. When I pulled this stone, this morning, I almost put it back and sought another. Actually started to do just that.

Felt this was too big a subject for what I was doing here. But changed my mind,  choosing to write what I know and have experienced in my own life. Not all of that shadow aspect is bad or evil, or even self-destructive. If we are ever to find the wholeness we seek, we must be willing to lean in and listen to the voice of our soul as it leads us to those parts of us without which we can never attain that wholeness.

For Poets United Thursday Think Tank: Quotation 
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Journey Stone #31 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Journey Stone #31

  1. Nice write as always. Meet you in the shadow….

    Like

  2. Oh I love this one…….the longest journey and the most amazing one is the inner trek. I love what you say about the dark side often being the voice of our creativity, longing to be heard. So true. A gem of inner wisdom from you, to ingest with my morning coffee. Wonderful, Elizabeth!

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Sherry, I really like that image of you and I sitting together over a morning beverage. I do believe that when we are young, some of our creativity is, or might be, met with disapproval for one reason or another. We then relegate it to some dark corner, even forgetting sometimes, that it ever existed at all. Thanks for stopping in,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  3. Kim Nelson says:

    Elizabeth, I really like this one, perhaps because I agree with it’s essential message.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Kim, I certainly wouldn’t argue with that. I am all for liking what essentially agrees with my own belief system. It took a long time to put it together, but it has a wide base for all of that.

      Thanks and glad you enjoyed,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  4. Robert Lloyd says:

    “Pieces of self unwittingly relegated
    to shadow existence. Often unknown,
    thus feared. Sometimes wild, like
    a feral child, drawn toward light
    seeking expression, wanting
    only to be heard.”

    This entire thing should be quoted often. Its concise, wonderful and truth. Thanks for sharing this piece.

    Like

  5. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, great write and something I can most
    definitely relate to. We all have a dark side,
    that we must come to terms with.

    Pamela

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Pamela, yes we do, but not all of it deserves to be in those shadows. It’s up to us to come to terms with that reality and start sorting this from that. Thanks much for sharing your thoughts,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  6. barbara says:

    What a great quote and poem “a feral child”….that is beautiful ….wonderful to embrace….bkm

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      bkm, when I finally faced my own inner child, she only asked me for one thing. That I should sit for a moment and watch her dance. That moment never truly ended.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  7. Old Ollie says:

    Nice piece – the image of the feral child is very strong.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Ollie, because these pieces and parts have never had a chance to learn or grow within the socialization process, they only know what is wild. And because of that, they are strong, yet willing to lend that strength to our own. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  8. Elizabeth,
    I liked the concept, ‘of the other self’ very much.
    A great explanation and use of your quotation.
    Very meaningful words, for me too.

    Best wishes, Eileen

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Eileen. I didn’t plan to use this post for anything other than my daily observation from the Journey Stones. I’ve never used a quote before when doing them. When I saw the prompt, afterward, I was stunned but grateful.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  9. Peggy Goetz says:

    I like this very much. Thank you!

    Like

  10. Rashmi says:

    Yes….that feral child just want us to listen…
    oh…yes..we in our busy life wont hear her or often dont think that she exists…great…..

    Like

  11. Ellen says:

    Well Done and thought provoking. I can relate, trying to express my creativity and others not so receptive.
    It is becoming like forbidden fruit. Every one wants the old me to return…(the one who cleans, aids and makes their lives easier). Thank you for sharing, it speaks volumes, to me~

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      I’m glad that it does. And I know exactly what you mean. I came to writing late, not the doing so much but the awareness that it was what I wanted to do. That disturbs people, makes them uneasy because we are now unfamiliar territory and that means that they can’t be comfortable. As much as we tout the value of change, we don’t much like it. Thanks for your response,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  12. A wonderful take on the prompt, and one that resonated with me. I had not read that quote before…will go look for it in context, and will come back and explore your site further…:)

    Lynette
    http://imaginationlane.blogspot.com/2011/03/thursday-think-tank-homage-to-robb.html

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Lynette, my mentor in college was a Whitman scholar. And although I had some problems with his poetry at first, I came to a place where I appreciated much of what the man had to say. And hope you do come back, will be glad to see you,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  13. Judy Roney says:

    You sing the song of the poet here. Beautifully done.

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    I think sometimes we put our wild child in the background or someone else in our life relegates it to the background. Fortunate is a person who comes to enjoy her wild side, plus gains the appreciation of it from others. The wild child, imho, is the most creative..uninhibited. Nice writing, Elizabeth.

    Like

  15. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks my friend. We should all take a chance once in a while to appreciate that wild child. She has so many gifts to offer us and our world.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

