Stone #10 aros, and Journal Writing Prompt #12


For A River of Stones
http://ariverofstones.blogspot.com/

She said she didn’t understand.
While trying to explain,
I learned even more.

Elizabeth Crawford  1/10/11

____________________________________________________________________________________

Journal Writing Prompt #12

Last week we explored identity through the meaning of our own names. This week, I would like you to look at what others come to you for, and expect to receive. Do those requests fit your own sense of who and what you are? You can make a list of individuals, or simply a list of the most often repeated requests. Hone in on one of them and write about how you feel and respond to that request.

Example: I find that most people want my time. They want to be heard, listened to, and wait for a response. I will usually comply, but if the request comes from several people at the same time, I become flustered and have a tendency to withdraw into silence. Part of my identity is found in one on one communication. I want to understand and to be understood. Too many requests of this sort is over-stimulation, too much to handle. I need the time to process and respond. I tell others to slow it down and just breathe, but often forget to do that very thing. When I don’t do it, I hyperventilate on a mental level, so my silence is my breathing space.

I am aware that different things are asked for at different ages and circumstances. When my children were young, the requests were far different than when they were older. But, the same can be said of my grandchildren. However, the fact that they are my grandchildren means the requests themselves are a bit different. Part of who we are, how we see ourselves comes from those requests at different ages, times, and circumstance. You may want to look at this prompt from different perspectives.

Mine is a very brief example, and only one suggestion. You are free to take this one wherever it wants to go. If you find something you want to share, either bring it back here and use the comments section, or leave a URL to your own blog. And again, this is personal exploration of your own person, so sharing is only at your choosing.

Have fun and write.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Stone #10 aros and Journal Writing Prompt #12 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stone #10 aros, and Journal Writing Prompt #12

  1. I like this stone, Elizabeth:)

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Hi Sherry, this one popped into my head after several others had been rejected. Although it happens often, I am always surprised when it does. Think it is the reason I went into teaching and enjoyed it so much. Thanks, and glad you enjoyed,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Journal Writing Prompt #12

    What am I for?

    People come to me to be fed – it has seemed in the past to be my main function: cooking was a pleasure, and part of my passion to be creative. Nowadays I find it very tiring: I must pluck up courage, gird my loins – whatever that means – and get stuck in. Friends come to my fortnightly sewing afternoons to have a natter, sew, knit, look through my huge collection of craft magazines and books, ask questions, show off their work, exchange ideas … eat my cake and drink my tea.

    Acquaintances and strangers come to me to translate their business letters, interpret at meetings with bank or notaire. When the person asking for this has been in France as long, or longer than I have, this gets me mad. I’ve never charged for this service, but this may change in the future.

    More reasonably, I am often called on by local hospitals and health workers to interpret for tourists or new residents who find themselves in trouble and unable to communicate.

    Some years ago, I designed and produced a leaflet of vocabulary on health matters which was distributed to hospitals and professionals in the Departement, and much copied by other regions. This came from a prolonged stay in hospital which did wonders for my French, and aroused my sympathy for others in this predicament. After several updated versions I ceded this task to the Anglophone Association, but my name is still on the front as available to interpret. Sometimes very stressful, nevertheless it ‘s always satisfying to be able to help out in a crisis.

    My most harrowing job was as interpreter for an English chap who killed two old ladies in a borrowed campervan while seriously drunk. Three days of police interviews, followed by three appearances in court, and prison, left me exhausted and hospitalised with recurrent heart problems.

    I have deliberately not written about what my family expect from me, because this is constantly evolving, so much so that the balance has switched and roles reversed.

    Like

  3. 1sojournal says:

    I like this a lot Viv. It makes you both a nurturer and a facilitator of understanding, both definitions I have seen and experienced since coming to know you.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    I have a short answer this morning. I don’t know if people sought these qualities out or not, but anyone I knew for any length of time experienced them. I was / am a good question asker, one who will draw other people out; one who will draw the quiet person into a conversation. I am also a good listener, preferring to listen to other people’s stories oftentimes rather than to take the floor with my own. I am a ‘discusser,’ a ‘philosophizer.’ I have tended also to attract that kind of person who likes to look beyond the surface.

    Like

Leave a Reply

