Stone #7 aros

 

For A River of Stones
http://ariverofstones.blogspot.com/

Every step in the process
brings me closer to the goal,
contains a lesson that brings me
nearer to what dances on far horizon.
Makes clearer the form, shape, textures
and colors that give fine-line definition
to any destination. Even stumbles
have substance to teach.

Elizabeth Crawford  1/7/11

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Stone # 7 aros and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stone #7 aros

  1. Stumble, bumble, pell, mell, all have substance. Nicely done. But I am stumped on the “stairs.” Perhaps I will take each step, and I will go up, or I will trip and fall down– as you say, all have substance.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      I think the stairs are a way of slowing us down. Each step needs a pause before continuing, a moment (or many) to digest that lessons that each one incorporates into the process itself. Climbing is never as simple or, as easy as flatland walking. It tests the muscles and demands that we use new and different ones to get to our chosen destination. You may have to stop a bit to catch your breath, or even to refresh yourself for the rest of the climb, but you do have what you need to continue. Just remember that all that came before was just practice. You will be fine. And thanks for the phone call, it did make a difference.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  2. All with substances to teach, yes. Well said, Elizabeth.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Thank you Sherry. It is so easy to say, but remembering it in those moments when the lessons are hard or difficult is usually a different matter all together. And I seem to give all those seeds (lessons) many opportunities to unfold and blossom, lol.

      Elizabeth

      Like

  3. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I found your stones and I love them. Just like everything else you write. They are fantastic.
    I recently read one of your poems to my husband (don’t remember which one)but he said “she is very good” and believe me he is very critical. He is an editor after-all:)
    Pamela

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Pamela, please thank him for me, and thank you for passing it on. Wish you remembered which one though, I could mark it, lol. I had no idea you were married to an editor. Whew!

      Am so glad that you find value in my words. There are so many really good writers on the circuit, including yourself, and I feel stretched thin sometimes, trying to read all of them. I will just have to keep trying. Thanks for your generous words,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  4. James says:

    “Even stumbles / have substance to teach.”

    Yes.

    Like

    • 1sojournal says:

      Hello James, glad you agree. We may not like the stumbles, why would we? At the very least, they make us look awkward, even foolish. But, they are just as important if we recognize their value. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

      Elizabeth

      Like

  5. Cheryl says:

    I loved reading these. your work is very good. i enjoyed my visit here.

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you very much, Cheryl. That’s always good to hear. Welcome and hope you return,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

