Brief Challenge

I have company coming this morning, a friend I haven’t seen in over a year. So, instead of writing my usual verbose blog, I am sending out a challenge. Can you tell me, in three sentences or less, how you feel, think, or respond to the idea of keeping a journal? You may know immediately what you want to say, that’s good. You may use anything I’ve written here as a starting point. You may feel a bit frisky or creative. If so, be my guest, write a poem, a haiku, a limerick, whatever. Leave your response in the comments after this blog. I’ll get back to you.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Challenge, Choice, Journal Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brief Challenge

  1. p1ece5 says:

    I asked the difference between a journal and a blog
    The audience she said.
    I sit here without word on paper and know this must be my journal.

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    I hope like hell, you put this in your journal in your own special alphabet. It is haunting. But then, most of what you put on a page is intriguing for so many reasons. Thanks so much for responding to this challenge, but then again, that is a big piece of our story, is it not?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Solafari says:

    I have tried writing a journal several times over the years. My mother is a staunch advocate of journaling. I hate writing down what is going on inside my head.

    Like

  4. 1sojournal says:

    Why? Because you might have to listen?

    Like

  5. diddums says:

    A journal was particularly important to me when I was living alone, as it seemed to ‘ground’ me in some sense. I took it up again a few days ago when I realized the blog wasn’t everything I needed… I would write something for it then change my mind, probably because what I had written was really meant for the private journal.

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Grounding is a very good word for keeping a journal. It grounds us within our own person and our own thoughts. I wouldn’t think of writing here before doing my personal pages. They remind me of who I really am, and also supply a great deal of inspiration for this blog. Thanks for stopping by and now that you have started again, keep up the good work. It pays off in so many ways.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Susan B. says:

    I periodically keep a journal; generally stop when I a) get major depression, b) get too close to something I need to examine c) am seeing a shrink. Since I moved I no longer get major depression, don’t feel the need for a shrink, yet have not consistantly kept a journal. I have other excuses but they aren’t actual reasons.
    So a couple of months ago I started carrying a little moleskin notebook, ostensibly to write quotes from the books I’m reading, but story ideas, poem ideas and truths about myself have all snuck in there. I needed to fool myself (ok not really but saying I had to behavior mod myself seems even more ridiculous) in order to write SOMETHING each and every day.

    Like

  8. 1sojournal says:

    At least you have started, that’s excellent. This is my suggestion: a journal takes a deliberate concious decision. If you make it, also tell yourself on those days when you want to skip, that you will at least write down why and what you are feeling. Just a note, no big production. You can gain a great deal of insight and awareness from those notes. Start those notes with the words: “I am not going to write here today, and this is why and how I am feeling.” It’s a very direct message and eventurally you will hear it. And remember, no one else is going to know it, or even have a clue.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

